Fanzz has amazing deals on NFL Jerseys, NFL Hats, NFL Apparel, and NFL Gifts.
Earnhardt Jr.'s Pocono win paints a championship
By Kristen Schneider
August 3, 2014

Someone better get a broom. And the championship trophy.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. visited victory lane again at Pocono Raceway, winning both events at the
track this year. The Hendrick Motorsports driver led the final fourteen laps on his way to his third
checkered flag of 2014. Crew chief Steve Letarte’s slight fuel strategy gamble ended up
earning the No. 88 team the jackpot.

The win comes after a vital announcement; team owner Rick Hendrick and Earnhardt Jr. made
known that Greg Ives will crew chief in 2015. Letarte will aid NBC in the booth when their
NASCAR coverage kicks up. The Farewell Tour was already in full-swing, and now it has full
intentions to go out with a bang.

If the team keeps it up, it’s Earnhardt Jr.’s year. Why? Because it’s finally different. His personal
life, the team dynamic, the HMS power have all changed for the better. Letarte leaving only adds
fuel to the fire.

There’s no stopping Earnhardt Jr.; he’s racing toward his first championship.

The race in general was a thrill ride, kicking Pocono’s dull stereotype to the curb. It all peaked
when a thirteen-car wreck occurred, taking out Chase hopefuls Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth,
along with Brian Vickers, Aric Almirola, and many other notables. The backwards day continued
with reigning champ Jimmie Johnson hitting the wall twice and ending his day in the garage.

Many contenders tried to win. Jeff Gordon was running high off his Brickyard victory. Joey
Logano, stout as well. Heck, even Kevin Harvick came back with a vengeance from multiple

Nobody could run down the No. 88. They should get use to that once the playoffs come around.

Point Standings after the 400 (asterisk indicates number of wins)

1. Jeff Gordon (--)**
2. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (-17)***
3. Brad Keselowski (-70)***
4. Matt Kenseth (-89)
5. Ryan Newman (-115)
6. Jimmie Johnson (-124)***
6. Joey Logano (-124)**
8. Carl Edwards (-139)**
9. Clint Bowyer (-140)
10. Kyle Busch (-146)*
12. Kyle Larson (-162)
13. Greg Biffle (-167)
14. Kasey Kahne (-168)
15. Austin Dillon (-169)
16. Paul Menard (-195)
Search this site
free twitter buttons
Powered by Pnyxe
Leave  A Comment